When You Are The Minority of The Ages.

TheSevenAgesofPractice950x428

Imagine walking into your high school’s auditorium on a dreary, overcast summer tuesday afternoon. You check into the meeting and find a seat next to some girl from your grade. Then realizing yourself and a few others are outnumbered by lowerclassmen and mostly Juniors. I realize I was a Junior not even a couple weeks ago but still. 

As my attempt of describing the meeting at my high school during the summer, I will try to clear everything up now. The club I am apart of is called “Transition Club,” it’s a bit ironic considering there is actually people transitioning into their next chapter.  We help the upcoming freshman get situated and comfortable transitioning into the high school. The meeting was a mixture of inspirational talk, changes for the following year and lastly the plans for this club and what we have to change to make it better transition for others. 

Reality I walked into the doors of the high school straight to the auditorium looking around at all the changes, that were changing to the aesthetics. When I entered the auditorium I walked straight to the front to check in and then found a seat next to one of the girls in my grade and two other guys. Then when we were chatting among ourselves, we came to the realization that we are outnumbered by underclassmen.

Personally I felt outnumbered considering the majority of the population in the club is mostly underclassmen and not many seniors from my class.  

Leave a Reply

